Trains from Liverpool to Manchester

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Partnering with 450 providers
and more

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Today Sat 21 Jan Sun 22 Jan Mon 23 Jan Tue 24 Jan Wed 25 Jan Thu 26 Jan Fri 27 Jan Sat 28 Jan Sun 29 Jan Mon 30 Jan Tue 31 Jan Wed 1 Feb Thu 2 Feb Fri 3 Feb Sat 4 Feb Sun 5 Feb Mon 6 Feb Tue 7 Feb Wed 8 Feb Thu 9 Feb Fri 10 Feb Sat 11 Feb Sun 12 Feb Mon 13 Feb Tue 14 Feb Wed 15 Feb Thu 16 Feb Fri 17 Feb Sat 18 Feb Sun 19 Feb Mon 20 Feb Tue 21 Feb Wed 22 Feb Thu 23 Feb
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices

Price Calendar: These fares were collected over the last 24 hours and may be subject to change.

Liverpool to Manchester Train Information

Avg. Train Duration47m
Trains arrive inManchester
Trains depart fromLiverpool
Train Ticket Price£ 3.03
Distance50 km
Train Companies
  • Northern Rail

Trains from Liverpool to Manchester: Journey Details

Liverpool and Manchester are only around 35 miles apart, so taking the train is a great way to travel between two cities in north-west England. Trains from Liverpool to Manchester are operated by Northern Rail and East Midlands Trains. The first train leaves from Liverpool Lime Street just after 3:30 a.m. and the last service leaves at 11:30 p.m. Travellers do not need to change at any point, and off-peak services are provided throughout most of the day. Prices may be slightly higher during the morning rush hour.

Manchester

Demographics

Local Time 05:38
Pound Sterling
Population 395,500
Region North West England
Languages English

How expensive is Manchester?

An Average Meal

An average meal in a restaurant in Manchester costs 22.4% more than in Liverpool.

Shopping

Prices in Manchester are on average 8.5% higher than in Liverpool.

Public Transport

Public transport in Manchester costs around 17.4% more than in Liverpool.

A Night in a Hotel

A night in a hotel in Manchester is about 0.8% more expensive than in Liverpool.

Taking the Train from Liverpool

Most trains from Liverpool to Manchester depart from Liverpool Lime Street Station, although travellers can also pick up the train from Liverpool South Parkway. Lime Street can be found just to the east of the city centre, about a mile from the coast, and is well connected to other parts of the city via bus services. Look for local buses heading to Lord Nelson Street, which is about 100 metres from the station. Night buses are available at weekends, but taxis might be a good option, as a number of local buses finish around 7:00 p.m.

Getting into Manchester by Train

Manchester was once the industrial capital of the world, but is more famous nowadays for football, television and nightlife. If you love sport, music, or history, it's a fine place to visit. If you are arriving from Liverpool the major entry point is Manchester Piccadilly Station, on the eastern outskirts of the city centre. To get to the centre you can take a Metrolink tram to St. Peter's Square, which should take around 20 minutes. Trams are also the best way to get to Old Trafford, and run until midnight every day.

Schedules for Trains from Liverpool to Manchester

Train
Total £ 6.61
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 2.99
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.05
Train
Total £ 3.05
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.04
Train
Total £ 3.05
Train
Total £ 3.05
Train
Total £ 3.05