Edinburgh to Glasgow

Approved for

and more

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Today Tue 21 Feb Wed 22 Feb Thu 23 Feb Fri 24 Feb Sat 25 Feb Sun 26 Feb Mon 27 Feb Tue 28 Feb Wed 1 Mar Thu 2 Mar Fri 3 Mar Sat 4 Mar Sun 5 Mar Mon 6 Mar Tue 7 Mar Wed 8 Mar Thu 9 Mar Fri 10 Mar Sat 11 Mar Sun 12 Mar Mon 13 Mar Tue 14 Mar Wed 15 Mar Thu 16 Mar Fri 17 Mar Sat 18 Mar Sun 19 Mar Mon 20 Mar Tue 21 Mar Wed 22 Mar Thu 23 Mar Fri 24 Mar Sat 25 Mar Sun 26 Mar Mon 27 Mar Tue 28 Mar Wed 29 Mar Thu 30 Mar Fri 31 Mar Sat 1 Apr Sun 2 Apr Mon 3 Apr Tue 4 Apr Wed 5 Apr Thu 6 Apr Fri 7 Apr Sat 8 Apr Sun 9 Apr Mon 10 Apr Tue 11 Apr Wed 12 Apr Thu 13 Apr Fri 14 Apr Sat 15 Apr Sun 16 Apr Mon 17 Apr Tue 18 Apr Wed 19 Apr Thu 20 Apr Fri 21 Apr Sat 22 Apr Sun 23 Apr Mon 24 Apr Tue 25 Apr Wed 26 Apr Thu 27 Apr Fri 28 Apr Sat 29 Apr Sun 30 Apr Mon 1 May Tue 2 May Wed 3 May Thu 4 May Fri 5 May Sat 6 May Sun 7 May Mon 8 May Tue 9 May Wed 10 May Thu 11 May Fri 12 May Sat 13 May Sun 14 May
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices

Price Calendar: These fares were collected over the last 24 hours and may be subject to change.

General Information About the Journey from Edinburgh to Glasgow

Located just 50 miles apart, it's convenient to take either the train or bus from Edinburgh to Glasgow. The fastest direct method of travel is by train with journeys taking less than an hour with First ScotRail services. Bus journeys between the two cities take between 1 hour and 1 hour 40 minutes depending upon route and service provider.

Glasgow

Demographics

Local Time 17:47
£ Pounds Sterling
Population 610,200
Region Scotland
Languages English

How expensive is Glasgow?

An Average Meal

An average meal in a restaurant in Glasgow costs 16.7% more than in Edinburgh.

Shopping

Prices in Glasgow are on average 3.7% higher than in Edinburgh.

Public Transport

Public transport in Glasgow costs around 33.2% more than in Edinburgh.

A Night in a Hotel

A night in a hotel in Glasgow is about 23.2% less expensive than in Edinburgh.

Buses from Edinburgh to Glasgow

There are several bus companies that offer connections between Edinburgh and the nearby city of Glasgow. Buses depart from Edinburgh Bus Station located in the centre of the city and arrive at the Buchanan Bus station near Glasgow's Queen Street. Megabus, National Express and Scottish CityLink all offer bus routes between the two cities. Citylink offers the most frequent services with buses departing Edinburgh bus station up to five times an hour during peak travel times. An average Citylink journey from Edinburgh to Glasgow takes approximately an hour and a half. National Express offer buses up to twice an hour, with the journey taking around one hour and twenty minutes to complete.

Trains from Edinburgh to Glasgow

Trains depart from Edinburgh's central station and may stop at either Glasgow Central or Glasgow Queen Street, two of the city's main stations. First ScotRail offers direct services between the two cities with trains that stop at Glasgow departing up to five times an hour during peak times. It can take as little as fifty minutes to travel from Edinburgh to Queen Street Station in Glasgow. All routes are direct, but some trains stop at more intermediary stations resulting in a longer journey time. Departures are available throughout most of the day.

Bus
Bus
Bus
Train
Train
Train
Cheapest Trains, Buses and Flights from Edinburgh to Glasgow for Today
Bus
Bus
Train
Bus
Train
Bus
Train
Bus
Train
Bus