Edinburgh to Glasgow

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Partnering with 450 providers
and more

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Today Sat 21 Jan Sun 22 Jan Mon 23 Jan Tue 24 Jan Wed 25 Jan Thu 26 Jan Fri 27 Jan Sat 28 Jan Sun 29 Jan Mon 30 Jan Tue 31 Jan Wed 1 Feb Thu 2 Feb Fri 3 Feb Sat 4 Feb Sun 5 Feb Mon 6 Feb Tue 7 Feb Wed 8 Feb Thu 9 Feb Fri 10 Feb Sat 11 Feb Sun 12 Feb Mon 13 Feb Tue 14 Feb Wed 15 Feb Thu 16 Feb Fri 17 Feb Sat 18 Feb Sun 19 Feb Mon 20 Feb Tue 21 Feb Wed 22 Feb Thu 23 Feb Fri 24 Feb Sat 25 Feb Sun 26 Feb Mon 27 Feb Tue 28 Feb Wed 1 Mar
Find prices Find prices
Find prices

Price Calendar: These fares were collected over the last 24 hours and may be subject to change.

General Information About the Journey from Edinburgh to Glasgow

Located just 50 miles apart, it's convenient to take either the train or bus from Edinburgh to Glasgow. The fastest direct method of travel is by train with journeys taking less than an hour with First ScotRail services. Bus journeys between the two cities take between 1 hour and 1 hour 40 minutes depending upon route and service provider.

Glasgow

Demographics

Local Time 05:39
£ Pounds Sterling
Population 610,200
Region Scotland
Languages English

How expensive is Glasgow?

An Average Meal

An average meal in a restaurant in Glasgow costs 16.7% more than in Edinburgh.

Shopping

Prices in Glasgow are on average 3.7% higher than in Edinburgh.

Public Transport

Public transport in Glasgow costs around 33.2% more than in Edinburgh.

A Night in a Hotel

A night in a hotel in Glasgow is about 23.2% less expensive than in Edinburgh.

Buses Edinburgh - Glasgow

Provider:
National Express
Distance:
67km
Duration:
01:00 hrs
Changes
0
From£ 6.09

Trains Edinburgh - Glasgow

Provider:
scotrail
Distance:
67km
Duration:
00:51 hrs
Changes
0
From£ 15.29

Buses from Edinburgh to Glasgow

There are several bus companies that offer connections between Edinburgh and the nearby city of Glasgow. Buses depart from Edinburgh Bus Station located in the centre of the city and arrive at the Buchanan Bus station near Glasgow's Queen Street. Megabus, National Express and Scottish CityLink all offer bus routes between the two cities. Citylink offers the most frequent services with buses departing Edinburgh bus station up to five times an hour during peak travel times. An average Citylink journey from Edinburgh to Glasgow takes approximately an hour and a half. National Express offer buses up to twice an hour, with the journey taking around one hour and twenty minutes to complete.

Trains from Edinburgh to Glasgow

Trains depart from Edinburgh's central station and may stop at either Glasgow Central or Glasgow Queen Street, two of the city's main stations. First ScotRail offers direct services between the two cities with trains that stop at Glasgow departing up to five times an hour during peak times. It can take as little as fifty minutes to travel from Edinburgh to Queen Street Station in Glasgow. All routes are direct, but some trains stop at more intermediary stations resulting in a longer journey time. Departures are available throughout most of the day.

Tickets from Edinburgh to Glasgow

Train
Total £ 12.81
Train
Total £ 12.81
Bus
Total £ 4.58
Bus
Total £ 4.56
Train
Total £ 8.92
Bus
Total £ 4.58
Train
Total £ 12.85
Train
Total £ 12.78
Bus
Total £ 4.56
Train
Total £ 12.59
Bus
Total £ 4.49
Bus
Total £ 4.56
Train
Total £ 12.78
Bus
Total £ 4.58
Train
Total £ 12.85
Bus
Total £ 4.58
Train
Total £ 12.81
Train
Total £ 8.98
Bus
Total £ 5.10
Train
Total £ 12.78
Bus
Total £ 4.56